We're Everywhere!
Close Search
What in the Turks and Caicos are you looking for?
Type your search terms and pause for instant results.
the beachfront Turks and Caicos Islands House of Assembly at Cockburn Town The Turks and Caicos Islands House of Assembly, Cockburn Town, Grand Turk.

Government of the Turks and Caicos Islands

The Turks and Caicos Islands is a British Overseas Territory, and its system of government would be classed as a constitutional monarchy.

The functioning of government is similar to that of the United Kingdom, with a major difference being that our parliament (House of Assembly) consists of only one chamber (unicameral), and not an upper and lower house as in the UK and US.

Parliament consists of 19 members, of which 15 are voted democratically. 10 of these are voted in a traditional constituency, and 5 are 'all-island' candidates, of which every voter has the option to elect. Of the remaining 4 members who are not elected, the Governor appoints two, and the Premier and Leader of the Opposition each appoint one.

The Government is divided into seven ministries:

  • Border Control and Employment
  • Education, Youth and Culture
  • Infrastructure and Planning
  • Finance and Trade
  • Home Affairs, Transportation and Communication
  • Health, Agriculture and Human Services
  • Tourism and Environment

In addition to the Government ministries, a number of independent and statutory bodies exist (such as the Financial Services Commission and Invest Turks and Caicos).